Kelly Michael Armstrong (born October 8, 1976)[1][2] is an American lawyer and politician serving as the U.S. representative for North Dakota’s at-large congressional district since 2019. A member of the Republican Party, he served as the North Dakota state senator from the 36th district from 2012 to 2018 and chair of the North Dakota Republican Party from 2015 until 2018.

Early life and education

Armstrong graduated from Dickinson High School in 1995. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in psychology from the University of North Dakota in 2001 and a Juris Doctor from the University of North Dakota School of Law in 2003, after spending his first year of law school at the College of William & Mary.[3] He is a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity.


Armstrong was a partner at Reichert Armstrong, with offices in Grand Forks and Dickinson, before his Congressional election. He served as the North Dakota State Senator from the 36th district from 2013 to 2018[4] and chaired the North Dakota Republican Party from 2015 to 2018.[5] The American Conservative Union gave him a rating of 71% in 2017.

U.S. House of Representatives



In February 2018, Armstrong announced his candidacy for the United States House of Representatives.[6] He was endorsed by the North Dakota Republican Party at its state party convention in April 2018.[7] Armstrong won the November 6 election with 60.2% of the vote.[8] He resigned his seat in the North Dakota Legislature on November 7 and took office in Congress in January 2019, replacing Kevin Cramer, who was elected to the United States Senate.


Armstrong ran for reelection and won on November 3, with 68.96% of the vote.[9]


Armstrong was one of seven Republicans who did not support their colleagues’ efforts to challenge the results of the 2020 presidential election on January 6, 2021. These seven signed a letter that, while giving credence to election fraud allegations made by President Donald Trump, said Congress did not have the authority to influence the election’s outcome.[10]

Committee assignments

Caucus memberships

Electoral history

Republican primary results
Republican Kelly Armstrong 37,054 56.23
RepublicanTom Campbell (withdrawn)17,69226.85
RepublicanTiffany Abentroth5,8778.92
RepublicanPaul Schaffner5,2037.90
Total votes65,901 100.00
North Dakota’s at-large congressional district, 2018[13]
RepublicanKelly Armstrong 193,568 60.20% -8.93%
Democratic-NPLMac Schneider114,37735.57%+11.82%
IndependentCharles Tuttle13,0664.06%N/A
Total votes321,532 100.00% N/A
Republican hold
2020 North Dakota’s at-large congressional district election[14]
Republican Kelly Armstrong (incumbent) 245,229 68.96%
Democratic-NPLZach Raknerud97,97027.55%
LibertarianSteven Peterson12,0243.38%


  1. ^ “Kelly Armstrong’s Biography”. Project Vote Smart. Retrieved March 7, 2018.
  2. ^ North Dakota New Members 2019, The Hill
  3. ^ Grandstrand, Katherine (December 20, 2012). “District 36 representation: All Kelly Armstrong wanted was to get away, but Dickinson is home”. The Dickinson Press. Archived from the original on June 22, 2018. Retrieved March 7, 2018.
  4. ^ “Senator Kelly M. Armstrong”. Bismarck, North Dakota: North Dakota Legislature. Retrieved March 7, 2018.
  5. ^ “Sen. Kelly Armstrong of Dickinson elected chair of ND Republican Party”. Grand Forks Herald. June 6, 2015.
  6. ^ Dura, Jack (February 22, 2018). “Armstrong joins packed House race”. The Clarion-Ledger.
  7. ^ Inc., Midwest Communications. “Armstrong wins GOP House endorsement”. The Mighty 790 KFGO. Retrieved April 10, 2018.
  8. ^ Wasserman, David; Flinn, Ally (November 7, 2018). “2018 House Popular Vote Tracker”. Cook Political Report. Retrieved February 15, 2019.
  9. ^ “OFFICIAL (WITHOUT RECOUNTS) 2020 GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS: Representative in Congress”. North Dakota Election Officials. Retrieved November 17, 2020.
  10. ^ Budryk, Zack (January 3, 2021). “Coalition of 7 conservative House Republicans says they won’t challenge election results”. The Hill. Retrieved January 3, 2021.
  11. ^ “Homepage of Republican Governance Group”. Republican Governance Group. December 14, 2019.
  12. ^ “Membership”. Republican Study Committee. December 6, 2017. Retrieved March 28, 2021.
  13. ^ Johnson, Cheryl L. (February 28, 2019). “Statistics of the Congressional Election of November 6, 2018”. Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. Retrieved April 27, 2019.
  14. ^ “Statewide Election Results”. North Dakota Secretary of State. November 12, 2020.

External links

North Dakota Senate
Preceded by

Member of the North Dakota Senate
from the 36th district

Succeeded by

Party political offices
Preceded by

Robert Harms
Chair of the North Dakota Republican Party
Succeeded by

U.S. House of Representatives
Preceded by

Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
from North Dakota’s at-large congressional district

U.S. order of precedence (ceremonial)
Preceded by

United States representatives by seniority
Succeeded by